Reference: Home

What is Reference?

Reference sources provide background information on a variety of topics and are a great place to start the research process. Users generally consult (or refer to) reference materials on a specific topic and then read entries related to that topic. Seldom is the source read in its entirety.

The sources list on this page are general reference sources.

Perhaps the most important reference source is the library staff. Visit the information desk at Salem or East Liverpool to get expert assistance from our trained employees.

General Reference

Online Reference Shelf. Use this LibGuide to access encyclopedia, dictionaries, and other reference sources.

Oxford Reference Online Full text of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Reference Universe This database searches the full text of major reference works then presents the titles of articles in those reference works and a link to the library's local catalog to see if the work is in the collection. It does not provide the full text of the articles.

Gale Virtual Reference Library A collection of full text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries, searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

Dictionary and Thesauri

OED: Oxford English Dictionary

OhioLINK resource: lists all English words (about 1 million) from Middles Ages to the present and defines their meanings at specific times in history.

Oxford Reference Online
Full text of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.

Reference: Home

What is Reference?

General Reference

Dictionary and Thesauri

East Liverpool Mailing Address

East Liverpool Street Address

Salem Mailing Address

Salem Street Address